June 4, 2011

Exposed

On the iPod: Have You Got It In You? - Imogen Heap

Hi there blog readers. I'm back with a new book this time and I can't wait to share it with you all. The book I just read is called Exposed and it's by Kimberly Marcus. Now, this book is told in verse format and it's so good. Like spectacular, and my policy on this blog is if I don't like it, I won't review it because 1) I highly doubt you guys wanna hear me rant and 2) this blog would have to be moved to a PG-13 format. and it wouldn't be pretty. (But hey, MAYBE I SHOULD BLOG ABOUT THE TWILIGHT BOOKS?! that'd be a challenge....)




Goodreads says:
 In the dim light of the darkroom, I'm alone, but not for long.
As white turns to gray, Kate is with me.
The background of the dance studio blurred, so the focus is all on her
legs extended in a perfect soaring split.
The straight line to my squiggle,
my forever-best friend.


Sixteen-year-old Liz is Photogirl—sharp, focused and confident in what she sees through her camera lens. Confident that she and Kate will be best friends forever.

But everything changes in one blurry night. Suddenly, Kate is avoiding her, and people are looking the other way when she passes in the halls. As the aftershocks from a startling accusation rip through Liz's world, everything she thought she knew about photography, family, friendship and herself shifts out of focus. What happens when the picture you see no longer makes sense? What do you do when you may lose everything you love most? Told in stunning, searingly raw free verse, Exposed is Kimberly Marcus's gut-wrenching, riveting debut and will appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins, Laurie Halse Anderson and Virginia Euwer Wolff



ANYWAYS, Exposed is about Liz and her 'forever-best friend' Kate and their close friendship that it could be classified as a sisterly relationship. One day when Liz and Kate are having their monthly slumber party, they have an argument and Liz goes upstairs while Kate stays down. What follows is Liz's life slowly spins into turmoil then rushes into it as she finds out what happened after she left Kate (Liz's brother Mike raped Kate). Liz tries to continue on with her normal life and it becomes increasinlgly difficult as the rumors come more and more. The book itself is beautiful and well written that it makes for an excellent read. I read it in under 2 hours and actually kept flipping faster and faster to find out what happens in the end. I highly recommend this book to anyone.

Favorite Quote from this Story: "When you trust your point of view, that's when you start taking pictures." - Annie Leibovitz (Exposed pg. 255)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Any thoughts on today's post?